Coach Worley selected as 2014 NHSCA National Coach of the Year

NHSCA Announces the 2014 Coach of the Year Honorees

Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Posted by: Mattie Potter

The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce this year’s recipients of the 2014 National High School Coach of the Year Awards.

This is the 15th year straight year the NHSCA has honored these achievers in the high school coaching community nationwide. This year’s recipients, selected in a total of 20 boys and girls sports, are from 16 different states. California leads the way with three coaches being honored, followed by Michigan and New Jersey with two each and 13 states claiming one honoree each.

While these coaches represent a multitude of different backgrounds, they exhibit a common theme: a strong dedication to supporting and developing high school student-athletes.

“This announcement is always a lot of fun for me,” said NHSCA Executive Director Bob Ferraro, Jr. “The coaches we are honoring today are outstanding examples for successful high school coaches in their sports. They place a high value on the teamwork skills their players learn for success in the classroom and on the field, and we are proud to be honoring them.”

Each one of the honorees will be honored in the National High School Sports Hall of Fame Museum that the NHSCA will be building in the near future.

Following are the NHSCA’s selections as the 2014 National High School Coaches of the Year, along with a list of past winners.

2014 NHSCA National Field Hockey Coach of the Year

Tara Worley
Lakeland High School – Suffolk, Virginia

Coach Worley, who retired at the end of the 2013 season, built Lakeland High School field hockey program into one of the best in the State of Virginia during her 15-years as head coach of the Lady Cavaliers. Worley’s lifetime record stands at 250-46-3 with her 2010 squad winning Virginia’s Class AAA state title. In addition to the 2010 state title, Worley coached her girls to two regional championships, 13 regular season Southeastern District titles, 12 district titles and one conference championship.

Past winners of the NHSCA National Girls’ Cross Country Coach of the Year Award

2013- Eileen Donahue – Watertown HS, Massachusetts
2012 – Lillian “Lil” Shelton – Severna Park HS, Maryland
2011 – Wendy Wilson – Tabb HS, Virginia
2010 – Danyle Heilig – Eastern Regional HS, New Jersey
2009 – Karen Klassner – Wyoming Seminary, Pennsylvania
2008 – Robin Chandler – The Hotchkiss School, Connecticut
2007 – Sue Butz-Stavin – Emmaus HS – Pennsylvania
2006 – Diane Chapman – Garden City HS – New York
2005 – Amy Longley – Hathaway Brown School, Ohio
2004 – Paul Doughty – Skowhegan HS, Maine
2003 – Debby Watson – Villa Duchesne HS, Missouri
2002 – Diana Walker – Sanford HS, Maine
2001 – Bob Derr – Lititz HS, Pennsylvania
2000 – Linda Nixon – Springfield Twp. HS, Pennsylvania